Yes, cannabis cultivation is legal in Hampden County. Cannabis legalization in Massachusetts went into effect on December 15, 2016. The Regulation And Taxation Of Marijuana Act permitted licensed establishments to grow cannabis and eligible residents to cultivate cannabis at home. The Cannabis Control Commission of Massachusetts states the requirements for growing cannabis at home are:
Must be 21 years or older.
Cannabis plants should be grown in closed and locked areas.
You can grow up to 6 plants in the main residence. Be sure to harvest the plants in cycles so that you will never have more than 6 plants blooming at a time.
If you have multiple residents over the age of 21, the maximum number of plants is 12.
When renting out a property, always remember that landlords can legally restrict cannabis cultivation. Ask your landlord or check your rental agreement.
If you are enrolled in the State's medical marijuana program and are an eligible patient, you may grow enough cannabis for personal medical use to sustain your supply for 60 days. Also, a 60-day supply is defined as sufficient to provide 10 ounces of usable marijuana.
Plants should not be visible to the general public without the use of binoculars, planes, or other visual aids.
You cannot make cannabis or hemp at home using any gas and liquid or alcohol with a flashpoint below 100 degrees Fahrenheit.
For cannabis facilities, the Marijuana Regulation and Taxation Act states that they cannot grow, process, manufacture, display, or sell cannabis-related products in places too prominent and visible to the public. Greenhouses or outdoor cannabis growing areas must also have appropriate security measures in place, including security fencing, to prevent unauthorized persons from easily accessing the produce.
Yes. Marijuana manufacturers must comply with all permits, environmental laws, regulations, and other applicable permits, including water quality, clean air, and solid and hazardous waste disposal. All marijuana establishments must have appropriate security measures in place to prevent cannabis product theft, prevent unauthorized entry into the area, and ensure the safety of employees, consumers, and the general public. Manufacturers must also provide a description of the types, shapes, colors, and forms of marijuana products and the methods of manufacturing that the company intends to employ. Furthermore, manufacturers shall provide Law Enforcement Authorities with a floor plan or layout of the facility. The facility must be 500 feet away from schools.
The Cannabis Control Commission is the body responsible for enforcing the cannabis laws of Massachusetts. The Commission authored 935 CMR, a law that states marijuana manufacturers can receive, manufacture, package, process, and transport products to marijuana facilities but not to consumers.
Yes, cannabis retail is legal in Hampden County. Under the Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act, the sale of concentrated forms of marijuana and marijuana products is permitted, including topicals, oils, beverages, ointments, tinctures, and edibles. 935 CMR also allows marijuana retailers to buy, sell, repackage, or transfer marijuana to marijuana establishments for sale to consumers. They may conduct all marijuana-related activities only at the address specified in the license and must prohibit on-site use by consumers on the premises of their facilities.
Eligible patients over the age of 18 must receive medical approval and state certification before legally possessing marijuana for up to 60 days.
For eligible patients under the age of 18, they must be approved by two state-licensed certified physicians who must diagnose the patient with a debilitating medical condition.
It is illegal to use medical marijuana in public.
Adults over 21 years old can purchase or grow recreational marijuana, but they must show government-issued ID to retailers before purchasing cannabis.
You can also carry up to 1 ounce of marijuana and have up to 10 ounces of adult marijuana in your home.
Public use of recreational marijuana is illegal.
It is unlawful to cross state lines with medical marijuana products of any kind. It is also against the law to ship by air, boat, train, or other means of transport outside of Massachusetts. Mailing medical marijuana is not permitted, even in States or countries where marijuana or medical marijuana use is legal.
Yes. Marijuana couriers may hold or be interested in cannabis cultivation, product manufacturing, retail, research, social consumption, or transportation licenses. The marijuana couriers may be restricted to certain transactions only for a period of 36 months from the date the courier licensee receives notice of opening for business. However, the Cannabis Control Commission may vote to extend this period.
The 935 CMR of the Cannabis Control Commission states that marijuana couriers or transporters can deliver marijuana directly to consumers from marijuana retailers. They may also deliver from a Medical Marijuana Treatment Center to patients with medical marijuana cards or their designated caregivers.
If you are a resident in Massachusetts and have a qualifying medical condition, you may be eligible to participate in the Massachusetts Medical Use of Marijuana Program:
Visit a registered accredited healthcare provider to become certified as a patient. Patients below 18 years old must be certified by two accredited physicians. One of them must be a pediatrician.
Have a government-issued ID
Get a passport photo
Once certified by a qualified physician, the program will send you an email with a four-digit PIN registration number and attached instructions on how to complete the application online
If you cannot register online, you also have the option to register by mail. Kindly note that paper applications take longer to process. Follow the mail registration instructions.
A medical marijuana card registration is free. Once your application is approved by the Commission, you can print a temporary medical marijuana card that allows you to purchase cannabis from retailers for up to 14 days. You will receive your official medical marijuana card within 7-14 business days.
Patients must present a medical marijuana ID and a valid government-issued ID at the time of purchase. Only eligible registered patients or their caregivers who live in Massachusetts may purchase medical marijuana.
For more details on how to obtain a medical marijuana ID card, please contact:
Cannabis Control Commission
2 Washington Square
Worcester, MA 01604
Phone: (774) 415-0200
Adult-use marijuana in Massachusetts is subject to a 6.25% state sales tax, a 10.75% state excise tax, and up to a 3% local city or county option tax. Under Massachusetts law, the sale of medical marijuana is not taxed. Even so, the Medical Marijuana Treatment Center has gross sales of $888 million since 2019, according to the Cannabis Control Commission.
With that said, the economic impact of legalizing marijuana in Massachusetts is thriving. According to the same report by the Cannabis Control Commission, the cannabis sector has generated more than $3 billion since recreational cannabis retail stores opened in 2018.
Marijuana legalization in Massachusetts began in December 2016. DUI cases with State Police: Hampden County saw a varying number of arrests from 2016 to 2018, from 222 cases to 138 to 229, respectively. This data is generated from the FBI's crime database. Meanwhile, arrests for marijuana possession saw a drop from 212 to 186 and 170 cases. These numbers were recorded from 2016 to 2018, respectively.